Charcutepalooza Grand Prize Challenge and A Request for Your Vote

Yesterday I found out that I was selected as one of the two semifinalists to the Charcutepalooza Grand Prize Challenge on Food 52. I still cannot believe it! There were so many amazing contestants that I can only feel honored and humbled to have had the pleasure to participate in Charcutepalooza with them.

To be honest, I can’t believe I made it this far along. The year of meat that started with duck prosciutto, turned into so much more. I never imagined in a million years that I would be making charcuterie from scratch! I never thought I would have the guts to butcher half a pig and learn what to make with every single cut without wasting an ounce of skin or lard. I’m so very grateful for everyone I’ve met in this journey, and for all I’ve learned about charcuterie.

Charcutepalooza was twelve months of trimming down pork bellies, salting, brining, smoking, grinding, stuffing, making pates and rilletes, and even butchering. It was a lot of hard work! But it also was so rewarding. I made so many new friends. I had the opportunity to meet local farmers, butchers, and chefs. Those relationships will last forever (I hope!), and I will be eternally grateful to everyone who offered their help during this year.

I would love for you to show your support and vote!

To vote:
1.Sign up at Food 52 with just your email address in the upper left hand corner of the page. They are an amazing community and resource for recipes and all things culinary.
2.Click on this link: http://food52.com/contests/266_your_best_charcuterie_the_charcutepalooza_grand_prize_challenge
Scroll down and Vote For This Recipe for One Vanilla Bean! (Scroll past the top banner, entries are closed, but voting continues until January 3rd)

Voting closes on January 3rd.

The post I selected to appear for voting is my Chicken Liver Terrine with Home-made “Ritz” Style Crackers and Apple Jelly. I chose this post because I wanted it to be something that anyone could make without special equipment or skill. Something that was reachable by all, Charcutepalooza inclined or not.

And let me just say, I’ve been so touched by everyone’s congratulatory messages and words of encouragement. I had never realized that Charcutepalooza or my blog had reached so many people. To everyone who has voted, tweeted, & linked: thanks a million for your support! You are the best and the reason why I blog!

And here are a few of my favorite Charcutepalooza challenges:

Pancetta

Home-made Smoked Salmon


Home-made Salt Cod

Author: onevanillabean

I have loved cooking and baking since I was 5 years old. It was the one activity that I would share with all my extended family. Like most people, I love traveling. I love visiting the markets, exploring unknown ingredients, and bringing them back home with me for inspiration. I find that recipes with simple and pure ingredients yield the best results.

2 thoughts

  1. I’m so disappointed!
    I just got your email today, and the contest is closed!
    I didn’t get to vote, it makes me so sorry.

    Hoping you will win.

    Wishing you and yours a New Year filled with blessings.

Leave a comment